Our Children's Teams

We share a common culture where the child is front and centre.

There are 10 Children’s Teams operating across New Zealand working with vulnerable children and their families/whānau.

Where are the Children’s Teams?

The Children’s Teams are listed below in the order they were established:

To contact a Children’s Team, refer to their individual pages by clicking on the name of the team above, or:

When were the Children’s Teams established?

The first Children’s Team was established in Rotorua on 29 July 2013, followed shortly by Whangarei on 1 October 2013. These two demonstration sites provided us with the opportunity to learn from the implementation of the approach originally envisaged in the White Paper for Vulnerable Children. The Children’s Team approach and their implementation were evaluated by Superu in January 2014.

On 19 May 2014, the Minister for Social Development announced a further eight Children’s Teams to be established. That year, Children’s Teams in Horowhenua/Ōtaki (8 September 2014) and Marlborough (17 November 2014) were established.

Following learnings from the establishment of these four Children’s Teams, we revised our implementation approach to focus more time on the community engagement required to support the Children’s Team approach.

In 2015/16 we established the six remaining teams in:

  • Hamilton (1 September 2015)
  • Tairāwhiti (9 October 2015)
  • Eastern Bay of Plenty (30 October 2015)
  • Whanganui (13 November 2015)
  • Counties Manukau (22 March 2016)

Hamilton, Canterbury and Counties Manukau are supported by the Vulnerable Children’s Hub and the Vulnerable Kids Information System (ViKI).

Read more about the background and legislation behind the Children’s Action Plan

How are Children’s Teams established?

People in the local community decide how all these parts fit together, who is on their Children’s Team and how the team is run.

The Children’s Action Plan Directorate in Wellington supports communities to establish their own Children’s Team, prepare their children’s workforce, and develop the networks and practices they’ll need to succeed.

Will there be more Children’s Teams?

Establishing any further Children’s Teams is subject to future government decisions.

Budget 2016 provided funding for four of the existing Children’s Teams to expand their boundaries over the next two years:

  • In 2016/17, Whangarei Children’s Team will expand to cover the Northland region, and Canterbury will expand to cover the DHB area.
  • In 2017/18, Hamilton will expand to cover the Waikato region, and Counties Manukau will expand to cover the DHB area.

What about areas where there are no Children’s Teams?

Local communities can read more about our approach to find out how you can get started in building this way of working within your own community.