Hamilton Children's Team

Hamitlon CHildren's Team illustration

The safety and wellbeing of vulnerable children is everybody's responsibility. They deserve better, and there is no doubt that we need to change the way we are working. As professionals working with children, we must all have a relentlessly child-centred focus, which puts the voices of vulnerable children, at the forefront. Rather than simply reacting to a crisis, we must focus on preventing harm and ensuring these young people go on to lead successful lives.

Refer a child

If you think a child is in immediate danger, call the Police on 111. If you suspect a child has already been abused or neglected, contact Child, Youth and Family.

To refer a child to the Hamilton Children's Team, contact the Vulnerable Children's Hub.

To contact the team, email: Hamilton@childrensactionplan.govt.nz or or call us on (07) 957 6726.

Hamilton Children's Team launch

Photo on Minister Tolley at the Hamilton Children's Team launchSocial Development Minister Anne Tolley officially launched Hamilton Children's Team and the Vulnerable Children's Hub on 1 September 2015 at Nawton Primary School.

Around 160 guests attended including Hamilton Mayor Julie Hardaker, the Chief Executives of Education, Justice and Health and the National Children’s Director Sue Mackwell.

The Hamilton Children’s Team was the first large urban Children’s Team to go to scale in the country.

It is the first opportunity to work with large numbers of vulnerable children and their families and whānau. As the Hamilton Children's Team reaches scale, they are expected to be supporting approximately 650 vulnerable children at any one time.

Hamilton Children’s Team covers the area of the Hamilton city boundaries. Click here for a map of the city boundaries [PDF, 1.1 MB].

Local Governance Group

The Hamilton Children’s Team’s Local Governance Group is comprised of key representatives from the local community, government agencies, non-government organisations and iwi. This group of community leaders ensures the Children’s Team Director has the resources necessary to address the needs of the vulnerable children and their family/whānau across the local community.

Hamilton Local Governance Group members are:

  • John McCaskill- Smith Chief Exucutive Officer, Midland Health Network
  • Murray Earl (Chair), Barrister, Victoria Chambers
  • Hywell Jones, Inspector, NZ Police
  • Ruth Rhodes, Senior Manager Planning and Funding, Waikato District Health Board
  • Sue Critchley, Regional Director, Child, Youth and Family, Ministry of Social Development
  • Karl Thornton, Director, Family Safety Network, Police
  • Jonelle McNeill, Manager, Barnardos
  • Tureiti Moxon, Managing Director, Te Kohao Health
  • Parekawhia McLean, Chief Executive Officer, Waikato Tainui
  • Paula Rawiri, Director of Education, Waikato, Education
  • Sue Hardley, Chief Executive Officer, Parentline
  • Peter Waru, Regional Manager, Community Investment, Ministry of Social Development
  • Terry Buffery, Regional Commissioner, Central Region, NZ Corrections
  • Rachel Jones, Regional Manager, Te Puni Kōkiri
  • Peter Anderson, Work and Income, Ministry of Social Development
  • Maea Marshall, Advisor, Te Puni Kōkiri.


Children’s Team Panel

The Hamilton Children’s Team panel is made up of a range of sector experts and practitioners who are responsible for reviewing referrals, assigning a Lead Professional to coordinate work with the child and their family, and approving and monitoring the progress against the Child’s Plan.

The Hamilton Children’s Team panel members are:

  • Darrin Frost, Sergeant, NZ Police
  • Manaaki Nepia, Regional Contracts Manager, Work and Income, Ministry of Social Development
  • Kerry Tudor, Family Violence Coordinator, Work and Income, Ministry of Social Development
  • Aroha Waipara-Panapa, Child Psychologist, Hauora Waikato - Nga Ringa Awhina
  • Sue Irwin, Service Manager, Ministry of Education
  • Kim Holt, General Manager, K'Aute Pacifica Trust
  • Kuvernthari Kisten-Nair, Special Education, Ministry of Education
  • Dr Sneha Sadani, Consultant Paediatrician, Waikato District Health Board
  • Janice Wotton, Nurse Practitioner, Midland Health
  • Endine Dixon Harris, Project Manager, Mokopuna Ora - Tainui
  • Michelle Bhandal, Social Work Supervisor, Child, Youth and Family, Ministry of Social Development.