Tairāwhiti Children's Team

Tairawhiti Children's Team illustration“We put tamariki first. We consider the needs of tamariki/children and their whānau/family first, before all other considerations” – Naomi Whitewood, Tairāwhiti Children’s Team Director

Refer a child

If you are concerned about a child (unborn to 18) you can refer them to the Children’s Team. Referrals to the Children’s Team can be made by agencies, practitioners (e.g. teachers and nurses), friends or the families themselves. We do not accept anonymous referrals and the family must verbally consent to the referral being completed. Read more about referring to Children's Teams here.

To refer a child to the Tairāwhiti Children’s Team:

  1. download and complete the referral form [DOCX, 295 KB] (external link)
  2. download and complete the consent form, with the child's family [DOCX, 111 KB]

Then drop the completed forms off to our office reception at 42 Grey Street. Alternatively, you can also email or call (06) 986 4221 for a member of our team to come and collect it. The forms should be in a sealed envelope, addressed to the Children’s Team and marked ‘Private and Confidential’.

If you have any questions about referring a child to the Tairāwhiti Children's Team, email: Tairawhiti@childrensactionplan.govt.nz

Tairāwhiti Children’s Team covers the area of the Tairāwhiti District Health Board.

For more information about the Children's Team, download the Tairāwhiti Children’s Team flyer [PDF, 720 KB]

Read the Tairāwhiti Children's Team Child Protection Policy here. [PDF, 797 KB]

Minister Tolley lauches Tairawhiti Childrne's TeamTairāwhiti Children’s Team launch

Social Development Minister Anne Tolley officially launched the Tairāwhiti Children’s Team on 9 October 2015.

Around 100 guests attended the launch in the Gisborne sunshine, including Gisborne Mayor Meng Foon, Ronald Nepe Chief Executive of Te Runanga o Turanganui a Kiwa, Tairwhiti District Health Board Chief Executive Jim Green, and local community leaders.

Minister Tolley lauches Tairawhiti Childrne's TeamAbout 430 vulnerable children will be eligible for the Tairāwhiti Children’s Team.  These are children who don’t quite reach the threshold for statutory care, but who have multiple unmet needs.

A fundamentally different way of working together, the Children’s Team provides the opportunity for government agencies, iwi and non-government organisations to bring together their existing services for vulnerable children into one personalised plan for each child and their family/whānau. This reduces duplication and allows professionals and practitioners to focus on delivering the right services.

To contact the Tairāwhiti Children’s Team, email: Tairawhiti@childrensactionplan.govt.nz


 CAP illustration

Tūranga FM Media News caught up with Minister Tolley and Naomi Whitewood.

Ritana (Lytton High School) Kapa Haka group performing a waiata.

Local Governance Group

The Tairāwhiti Children’s Team’s Local Governance Group is comprised of key representatives from the local community, government agencies, non-government organisations and iwi. This group of community leaders ensures the Children’s Team Director has the resources necessary to address the needs of the vulnerable children and their family/whānau across the local community.

Tairāwhiti Local Governance Group members are:

  • Ronald Nepe (Chair), CEO, Te Runanga O Turanganui a Kiwa
  • Jim Green, Hauora Tairāwhiti (DHB) Chief Executive
  • Anne Huriwai, Social Service Manager, Te Runanganui O Ngati Porou
  • Annie Aranui, Regional Commissioner, Work and Income, Ministry of Social Development
  • Wayne Spence, District Manager, Special Education, Ministry of Education
  • Nicola Barrington, Site Manager, Child, Youth and Family
  • Mere Pohatu, Regional Manager, Te Puni Kōkiri
  • Sam Aberahama, Area Commander, Police
  • Rehette Stoltz, Deputy Mayor, Gisborne District Council
  • Jane Hopkinson, Community Investment, Ministry of Social Development
  • Kerry Menefry, Lead Service Manager, Community Corrections
  • Iria Pene, Regional Manager, Community Investment, Ministry of Social Development
  • Marilyn Scott, Director of Education Hawkes Bay/Gisborne, Ministry of Education.

Children’s Team panel

The Tairāwhiti Children’s Team panel is made up of a range of sector experts and practitioners who are responsible for reviewing referrals, assigning a Lead Professional to coordinate work with the child and their family, and approving and monitoring the progress against the Child’s Plan.

The Tairāwhiti Children’s Team panel members are:

  • Alexandrina Hawea, AOD Counsellor, Hauora Tairawhiti (DHB)
  • Antonios Chasouris, Clinical Psychologist, Hauora Tairawhiti (DHB)
  • Marty Ferreira, Clinical Psychologist, Hauora Tairawhiti (DHB)
  • Lee Foley, Practice Lead, Child Youth and Family
  • Maringi Brown-Sadlier, STAND Manager
  • Mark Kopua, Whanau Ora Pakeke, Hauora Tairawhiti (DHB)
  • Mary Stonehouse, Paediatrician, Hauora Tairawhiti (DHB)
  • Robyn Smith, Child, Youth Social Work, Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou
  • Sarah Crichton, Special Education, Ministry of Education
  • Theo Akroyd, Detective Sergeant- Child Protection, Tairāwhiti Police
  • Jo Ihimaera, Manager, Turanga Social Services